Crazy Rugby World Cup Facts & Stats

Here you will find a bunch of crazy Rugby World Cup facts and stats that you may not have known. From Rugby World Cup fun facts to historic stats and did you know facts for meme's. All info is sourced and accurate to the best of my knowledge, but without guarantee.

Rugby World Cup Did You Know Fun Facts

Why not use these RWC fun facts for a Rugby World Cup quiz or trivia quiz night. With a variety of rugby fun facts spanning various teams, countries, players and results you'll be sure to find enough fun facts to generate a list of Rugby World Cup questions to test your friends or customers.

England 1st sole host nation to exit in pool stage

In 2015 England were the first sole host nation of a Rugby World Cup to exit the tournament in the group stages. Others have included Wales who co-hosted the RWC in 1991.

South Africa win every third RWC

Did you know South Africa have a trend of winning every third Rugby World Cup, having won in 1995 and again 3 tournaments later in 2007. By this trend, South Africa should win the 2019 RWC, so lets see!

Only 5 teams have ever made the final

Since 1987 and the eight Rugby World Cups to date, only 5 teams have ever appeared in a Rugby World Cup final, they are Australia, England, France, New Zealand and South Africa.

South Africa have never lost a final

Did you know, South Africa have never lost a Rugby World Cup final. They appeared in the 1995 and 2007 Rugby World Cup finals and won them both. Also surprisingly they scored 15 points in both those finals, so perhaps 15 is their lucky number?

France have lost 3 out of 3 RWC finals

France seem to have a Rugby World Cup omen, or trend that is like a thorn in their side. They have played in 3 RWC finals and lost all of them, twice to New Zealand and once to Australia. They've also been in 3 bronze finals and won 1 of them in 1995. Will RWC 2023 be France' moment?

By pattern, a northern hemisphere team should win RWC 2023 (Hosted in France)

If you look at RWC winner patterns, a northern hemisphere team should win the 2023 RWC, which will be held in France. A southern hemisphere team should by pattern win the 2019 RWC being held in Japan. So if history prevails and worldly patterns maintain, plus with the fact the 2023 RWC will be held in France, could we see the French finally overcome their omen and win the 2023 RWC on home soil?

New Zealand 24 years of no gold

It's bizarre to realise that New Zealand went a full 24 years without winning the Rugby World cup between 1987 and 2011. Despite probably being the best team in the world through those years and dominating the IRB world ranking's, the RWC title remained out of their grasp for a very long time.

Avg points scored by winners in RWC final

Did you know the average amount of points scored by the winning team in a Rugby World Cup final is 21 (from 1987 to 2015). The highest score was 35 points by Australia in 1999, and the lowest winning score was 8 by New Zealand in 2011 where they played France at their own game.

Home nations zero point matches

England and Scotland are the only two home nations to loose a RWC match with zero points. England were thumped by South Africa in 2007 36 points to nil in the pool stages, though courageously marched on to reach the RWC final against South Africa. Scotland lost to New Zealand in 2007 by 40 points to nil.

Aussies highest winning margin with 142 points

Australia hold the highest winning margin score in any one match when they beat Namibia in 2003 by 142 points to nil. New Zealand however hold the highest score with 145 points in 1995 when they played Japan.

Only 3 draws since 1987

A draw is quite rare in RWC history, with only 3 matches ever resulting in a draw between 1987 and 2015. They include France 20 - Scotland 20 in 1987, Canada 12 - Japan 12 in 2007 and Canada 23 - Japan 23 in 2011. So while a draw is rare, Canada and Japan are the only two teams to have twins. What are the chances of that?

Drop Goal King

Jonny Wilkinson scored 8 drop goals in the 2003 Rugby World Cup, followed by South Africa's Jannie de Beer in the 1999 RWC with 6. However, Jannie de Beer hit 5 of his 6 drop goals in one match against England in 1999, where in reflection Jonny Wilkinson maxed out at 3 in any one match. While 8 drop goals in one tournament is a influential contribution to a championship title, 5 drop goals in one match in a clear statement.

This blog is an enthusiasts personal project by, any opinions expressed within this blog are those of the author.